Savannah Downtown Neighborhood Association

Log in

Historic Savannah Foundation Announces 2014 Preservation Award Winners & Capital Campaign Drive

Wednesday, April 30, 2014 4:09 PM | Anonymous

SAVANNAH, Ga. – Historic Savannah Foundation (HSF) announced the winners of the 2014 Preservation Awards Luncheon earlier today at the DeSoto Hilton in Savannah.

This annual event recognizes individuals and organizations demonstrating excellence in historic preservation in historic preservation. The evaluation criteria that HSF Preservation Awards are judged upon include quality of work, degree of difficulty and the ultimate positive impact the project has on the surrounding community.

HSF honored 11 local award winners at the 2014 Preservation Awards Luncheon, including a special presentation of the President’s Award and the Nichola Parker Coe Volunteer of the Year Award.

“We are delighted to recognize such an outstanding group of leaders in historic preservation and revitalization in the Savannah area,” said Daniel Carey, president and CEO of Historic Savannah Foundation. “Their commitment to HSF’s core values extends the positive economic impact of historic preservation, which is often taken for granted or not fully appreciated.”

Over the last five decades, HSF has spearheaded the local preservation movement saving some of Savannah’s most acclaimed and visited historic properties. In order to continue its mission to preserve historic Savannah, HSF announced publicly today its capital campaign drive, This Place Matters: The Campaign to Continue Preserving Savannah.

Under the leadership of Aaron Levy, this year’s Nichola Parker Coe Volunteer Award winner and Past HSF President Helen Downing, the Capital Campaign co-chairs, we have raised $1.2 million of our $1.5 million goal. This important campaign will help provide the vital resources HSF needs to save endangered historic properties and continue to lead the preservation movement in Savannah and Chatham County into the 21st Century.

For more information on HSF’s capital campaign drive or for details on how to make gift donations, pledges, securities, property or other non-cash assets, please call 912.233.7787 or email

Winners of the 2014 HSF Preservation Awards include the following:

306 West Waldburg Street

Tommy and Jamie Linstroth

Drayton Tower
Flank, Inc.

Hayman's Hall


United Community Bank

United Community Bank

25 Bluff Drive

Vincent and Lisa West

415 East 40th Street
Seth and Leah Michalak

1117 Habersham Street
Justin W. Gunther
Cathedral of St. John the Baptist Spire Restoration
Catholic Diocese of Savannah

4 West Taylor Street
F. Reed Dulany III and Meredith Dulany

224 West Park Avenue

Mike and Alexandria Nelson

The Joe Murray Rivers Jr. Intermodal Transit Center

Chatham Area Transit Authority

Nichola Parker Coe Volunteer Award

Aaron Levy

President’s Award
Cullen Chambers, Tybee Island Historical Society

Office Voicemail: 912.236.8362

Downtown Neighborhood Association of Savannah, GA Inc.
P.O. Box 9416
Savannah, GA 31412

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software